Hello World!

Joey Baruch
3 min readJan 28, 2020

--

Entrepreneurship has always been a goal in my life. Most of the people I admired were entrepreneurs of some sort. My dad ran his own company since I can remember, and is still churning early-stage startups. My uncle, a mentor since childhood, created his own financial empire at a relatively early age. I also saw entrepreneurship in many of the historical and fictional characters of my upbringing. Tomas Edison taught me that you can’t succeed without failing and that it’s not just about having the best tech (wink wink, Tesla). Pinky and the Brain taught me to persevere, to accept some chaos, and to pivot. Dexter (the cartoon, not the murderer) embodies the need for coupling technical prowess with commonsensical guidance... I mean, I can see it everywhere, give me a character, and I’ll point out their entrepreneurial qualities. I often wonder how much of that is attributed to society’s celebration of entrepreneurship, and how much to my own gravitation towards those qualities.

Probably the first entrepreneurs I ever encountered.

As part of me saw entrepreneurship as the endgame, another part felt that to get there I needed to be a builder, an engineer. So I’ve taken the long road, a tough Computer Engineering degree from the Technion, and some 6 years working in the industry. But after learning how to build, I found it lacking, which is why I’m so grateful for Cornell Tech. It has taught me to figure what to build, who would pay for it and why. It has introduced me to amazing, high caliber people, and it has put me through a learning journey like no other — all in the world’s beating economic heart, NYC. Empowered by my past and my present, I find that it’s time to give this a real go! It’s time to take what I’ve learned and leverage it to ideate, design, build and grow the venture that will be the next chapter of my career.

My wife, daughter, and I celebrating NYC winter.

This is extremely exciting for me, as it’s coming full circle. I’m a dad and a husband now, and I’m fully aware that my actions today will impact who our daughter chooses to be. So I’ll go and do my very best to build a real business with a real product that may impact thousands if not millions (more on that to come). I’m connecting with myself and my inner child, on a deeper level. A prime directive within myself sent me to engineering school knowing I would get here, then fell asleep for nearly a decade. Now, this prime directive, this insatiable desire to build is wide awake, well-equipped to break ground, and ready to make an impact.

Hello world, I’m Back!

--

--

Joey Baruch

Software engineer, aspiring entrepreneur, dad, husband, night-owl.